June 15, 2001

League of United Latin American Citizen Awards Scholarship Awards

At the podium for the League of United Latin American Citizens Scholarship Awards Luncheon was keynote speaker Hector Molina, Station Manager, KBNT-TV. Pictured with Molina at the head table was Vic Salazar (with his daughter), Anchor, KNSD, 7/39 News and Beatrice estrada, President, LULAC, Council 2842.

Forty-four students, their parents, and guests attended the 16th Annual Scholarship Awards luncheon on June 9, 2001 at the Handlery Hotel, in Mission Valley. Beatrice Estrada, President of LULAC (League of United Latin American Citizens, Council 2842), assisted by Master of Ceremonies Vic Salazar, KNSD Anchor, 7/39 news, carried out an excellent heart warming program honoring the students.

Thomas and Pearl Martinez presented the Thomas & Pearl Martinez Foundation Award to Karla D. Leano of Montgomery High.

Assisted by Keynoter Hector Molina, Station Manager KBNT-TV, who set the tone for the granting of the scholarships, 44 students from Elementary, Middle, High Schools to Community Colleges to University students were Honored and recognized for their scholarship, dedication and hard work towards acquiring an education. Assisted by `Presenters,' students were presented the following awards:


Continuing Studies Scholarship:

Presenter: Inez Gonzales David Mejia (SDSU)

Presenter: Dr. Jo Birdsell George Quillopo, Jr. (UCSD)


High School Scholarships:

Presenter: Dr. Ricardo Felix Daniel Lopez (Sweetwater)

Ilhuicamina Aguilar (EastLake)

Ivan Licon presents the Macy's Scholarship to Veronica Ojeda of Bonita Vista High.

Presenter: Ivan Licon
Veronica Ojeda
(Bonita Vista)

Presenter: Anita Campbell
Ana Tolentino
(Castle Park)
Marissa C. Vasquez (Castle Park)
Brenda Isais (Mar Vista)

Presenter: Tom Rodriguez
Corry Canales
Nanzi Muro (Montgomery High)

Presenter: Veronica Muñoz
Mar Destinee Perez
(Chula Vista)

Presenter: Tom Martinez
Karla Leano

Middle/Junior HighSchools

Presenter: Dr. Jerry Rindone
Jesus Yniguez
(Southwest Junior High)
Ashley A. Levy (Mar Vista Middle)
Kenneth Wiltzius (Mar Vista)
Marlyn Fuentes (Mar Vista)

Elementary Schools

Dr. Valerie Schields, Principal, Howard Pence School, presented the Sycuan Incentive Awards to Judith Arredondo, Jennifer Banawa, Connie Ruelas, and Johanna Gonzalez.

Presenter: Dr.Valerie Schields
Judith Arredondo
(Howard Pence)
Jennifer Banawa (Howard Pence)
Connie Ruelas (Howard Pence)

Presenters: Dave Holgin & Steve Tapia
Johanna Gonzales
(Howard Pence)
Jennifer Kay Simpson (Mendosa)
Christina Flores (Mendosa)
Estefany Rubio (Mendosa)
Shanice Dansby (Central)
Lizbeth Ortiz (Central)

Presenter: Hector Molina
Ari Gonzalez
Yahaica Hernandez (Nestor)
Julio Gonzalez (Nestor)
Gisselle Mejia (Central)

Presenter: Gabriela Johnston
Christine Gonzalez
Daniella Clevin (Emory)
Martha Nieto (Emory)
Priscella Farines (Emory)

Presenter: John Gugarty
Diana Cruz
(Lillian J. Rice)
David Rodriguez (Lillian J. Rice)

Presenter: Dr. Vic Resendez
Alma Mora
Oscar Muñoz (Nicoloff)
John Louis Pina Jr. (Nicoloff)
Ernesto Vasquez (Nicoloff)

Presenter: Penny Frocks
Cristina Mora
(John Otis)
Daniel Carillo (John Otis)

Adult Education Award

Presenter: John Castrillo
Araceli Gonzalez
(San Ysidro Adult School)

Gracias to all those who contributed to the Scholarship Fund and to all the members of LULAC who contributed their money, time, love and efforts to make our event a success for the children who participated.

Return to the Frontpage