January 19, 2001

15 Finalists For Hall of Fame Election

CANTON, OH - Twelve former NFL players, two coaches and a team owner, make up the 15-man list of finalists who will be considered for election to the Pro Football Hall of Fame as members of the Class of 2001. Three finalists, wide receiver Art Monk, offensive tackle Jackie Slater, and coach Bill Parcells are first-year eligible finalists. Joining the three first-year nominees are eleven other modern-era candidates and the recommended candidate of the Hall of Fame's Seniors Committee.

The other modern-era finalists are Harry Carson, Dave Casper, Dan Hampton, Lester Hayes, Marv Levy, Mike Munchak, John Stallworth, Lynn Swann, Ralph Wilson, Jr., Ron Yary, and Jack Youngblood. The 14 modern-era finalists join the Seniors Committee nominee Nick Buoniconti to form the list of 15 finalists.

Carson, Casper, Levy, Munchak, Stallworth, Swann, Yary, and Youngblood have all been finalists in previous years. Swann and Youngblood advanced to the final six in last year's balloting, the farthest one can advance without being elected. Although they have been eligible prior to this year, this is the first time that Buoniconti, Hampton, Hayes, and Wilson have been finalists.

From this year's list of 15 finalists, nine spent their entire NFL career with just one team.

The modern-era finalists were determined by a vote of the Hall's 38-member Board of Selectors that will meet in Tampa, Florida on Saturday, January 27, to elect the Hall of Fame Class of 2001.

Listed alphabetically, the 15 finalists with their positions, teams, and years active follow:

Nick Buoniconti, Linebacker, 1962-1968 Boston Patriots, 1969-1974, 1976 Miami Dolphins

Harry Carson, Linebacker, 1976-1988 New York Giants

Dave Casper, Tight End, 1974-1980 Oakland Raiders, 1980-1983 Houston Oilers, 1983 Minnesota Vikings, 1984 Los Angeles Raiders

Dan Hampton, Defensive End/Defensive Tackle, 1979-1990 Chicago Bears

Lester Hayes, Cornerback, 1977-1986 Oakland/Los Angeles Raiders

Marv Levy, Coach, 1978-1982 Kansas City Chiefs, 1986-1997 Buffalo Bills

Art Monk, Wide Receiver, 1980-1993 Washington Redskins, 1994 New York Jets, 1995 Philadelphia Eagles

Mike Munchak, Guard, 1982-1993 Houston Oilers

Bill Parcells, Coach, 1983-1990 New York Giants, 1993-1996 New England Patriots, 1997-1999 New York Jets

Jackie Slater, Tackle, 1976-1995 Los Angeles/St. Louis Rams

John Stallworth, Wide Receiver, 1974-1987 Pittsburgh Steelers

Lynn Swann, Wide Receiver, 1974 -1982 Pittsburgh Steelers

Ralph Wilson, Jr., Contributor, 1959-present Buffalo Bills

Ron Yary, Tackle 1968-1981 Minnesota Vikings, 1982 Los Angeles Rams

Jack Youngblood, Defensive End, 1971-1984 Los Angeles Rams

At the 2001 election meeting (January 27), the selectors will thoroughly discuss the careers of each finalist before narrowing the field to the Seniors Committee nominee and six modern-era candidates. At least four modern-era candidates must be elected but the total class, including the Seniors Committee nominee, cannot number more than seven.

Of the 2001 finalists, Buoniconti, the Seniors Committee nominee, has been eligible 20 years. Swann and Yary are both in their 14th year of eligibility. Casper and Youngblood have been eligible for 12 years, Hayes 10, Stallworth nine, Carson eight, Hampton six, and Levy and Munchak three.

The Class of 2001 will be announced at a press conference at 11:30 a.m. (EST) on Saturday, January 27, at the Super Bowl media headquarters in the Tampa Convention Center.

Enshrinement of the Class of 2001 will take place on the front steps of the Pro Football Hall of Fame in Canton, on Saturday, August 4, 2001.

Return to the Frontpage