December 10, 2004


SACRAMENTO – Assembly Speaker Fabian Núñez (D-Los Angeles) named his leadership team for the 2005-06 Regular Session.

“I am very pleased that the following individuals have graciously agreed to serve in these critical leadership positions,” Speaker Núñez said. “I’m looking forward to working with my team to strengthen the connection between the Legislature and the people we represent.”

“We have tremendous talent here in the Legislature. Californians will benefit from this team’s hard work,” added the Speaker.

The following changes have been made with regard to the Democratic Leadership for the

2005-06 Regular Session:

Speaker pro Tempore Hon. Leland Yee (D-San Francisco)
Assistant Speaker pro Tempore Hon. Sally Lieber (D-San Jose)
Majority Floor Leader Hon. Dario Frommer (D-Glendale)
Assistant Majority Floor Leader Hon. Rebecca Cohn (D-Campbell)
Majority Whip Hon. Karen Bass (D-Los Angeles)
Assistant Whip Hon. Lori Saldaña (D-San Diego)
Democratic Caucus Chair Hon. Mark Ridley-Thomas (D-Los Angeles)
Rules Committee Chair Hon. Cindy Montañez (D-Mission Hills)
Member of Rules Hon. Betty Karnette (D-Long Beach)
Member of Rules Hon. Mervyn Dymally (D-Compton)
Member of Rules Hon. Joe Baca, Jr. (D-Rialto)
Member of Rules Hon. Joe Coto (D-San Jose)
Member of Rules – Alternate Vacant
Budget Committee Chair Hon. John Laird (D-Santa Cruz)
Appropriations Committee Chair Hon. Judy Chu (D

Return to the Frontpage